THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,926 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 25TH ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  FREE Gifts
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 33 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Nov 14 2009 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Okkervil River -Don't Fall In Love With Everyone You See LP
Click for more info

Okkervil River
Don't Fall In Love With Everyone You See LP

Okkervil River are a really, really good band. They combine a lot of different sounds into one cohesive unit. Sometimes it's really soft and pretty, sometimes it's screamy, sometimes it sounds like folk or country, others it sounds sort of like "indie rock" ala The National. You can tell they've all been around the block as far as musical interests. Anyway, this album is good, but if you're just getting into them I'd recommend "Black Sheep Boy."

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Nov 14 2009 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Ghost Mice -Europe LP
Click for more info

Ghost Mice
Europe LP

Pretty good record. It tells the story of them backpacking across Europe, so that makes it a bit of a concept album. The music isn't too varied; it's Ghost Mice so you know, it's real minimal, but the concept is cool so it keeps you reasonably interested. In a couple songs you're sort of like "We get it, you got lost, you hitchhiked, you got lost, you hitchhiked...." but overall it's a pretty fun record.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Nov 13 2009 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Andrew Jackson Jihad -Can't Maintain LP
Click for more info

Andrew Jackson Jihad
Can't Maintain LP

I'm not very familiar with their other stuff, I bought this when it came out just because it got my attention and I have a lot of friends who are into them.

It's definitely not bad, in fact it's pretty damn good. My understanding is that there are many more musicians on this album than their others. There's strings on some songs, mandolin on others, horn sections, one song sounds like it's all kazoos, but it still has a very minimalist, folk-punk feel; not at all overdone or glossy. Sometimes sounds like Defiance, Ohio, sometimes like Neutral Milk Hotel, and there's even one song that has a Springsteen-esque horn line. Sarcastic, self-deprecating lyrics. It's definitely good stuff in the tradition of Planit X and No Idea bands.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Against Me! -Crime 7

Against Me!
Crime 7"

Good stuff, way different than even "As The Eternal Cowboy." It's very minimalist, just a guitar, drums, and vocals. Listen to this Against Me!, not their (sorry) sellout crap. This is the real Against Me!, the good Against Me!

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Damien Jurado -Caught In The Trees LP
Click for more info

Damien Jurado
Caught In The Trees LP

If you're into Pedro The Lion and David Bazan, get this. Bazan and Jurado actually went to High School together, so, obviously...same roots. Pleasant singer-songwritery stuff...sort of reminds me of late Jets to Brazil or what Blake Schwarzenbach would do if he went solo.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Minutemen -Buzz Or Howl Under The Influence Of Heat LP
Click for more info

Minutemen
Buzz Or Howl Under The Influence Of Heat LP

Great, great band. This is a great long- EP (well, long for them). A couple of their best songs are on this...this sort of bridged the gap between "What Makes A Man Start Fires" and their defining "Double Nickels..." They were in a big transitionary period here; from the intensity and speed of their hardcore roots towards the funky brevity they became known for.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Magnetic Fields -Charm Of The Highway Strip LP
Click for more info

Magnetic Fields
Charm Of The Highway Strip LP

It's not as good as their earlier EPs or "Get Lost," but it's still a solid record. If you've never heard them, I suggest you start with what I mentioned in the first sentence.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Magnetic Fields -Get Lost (180 Gram) LP
Click for more info

Magnetic Fields
Get Lost (180 Gram) LP

A perfect record, in my opinion, maybe with the exception of "Famous." Classic mopey indie-pop, beautifully arranged songs that are deceptively lush with wry, crushing lyrics.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Crass -Best Before (Reissue) LP
Click for more info

Crass
Best Before (Reissue) LP

Very great compilation. If you're not into listening to entire Crass LPs and find the ordeal too...engaging...this is a good place to go to. Has a lot of their best songs, all in one really well put-together package. Still, for the full Crass experience you should listen to Stations of The Crass or Christ the Album.

Brian from Shippensburg, PA 
Oct 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Q And Not U -Different Damage LP
Click for more info

Q And Not U
Different Damage LP

Glad they finally reissued this. This was their best record, in my opinion. They ditched the bassist and got better with this. Essential DC shit.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 33 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2022 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.