THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 51,505 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold
Special Order Clothing






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 48 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Oct 23 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
88 Fingers Louie -Lives CD
Click for more info

88 Fingers Louie
Lives CD

Considering this was an Interpunk exclusive and I always did want to pick this up, I figured it was finally time to get it. I only played it once and I think I would personally rather hear the songs on the actual albums (I have a few of them and they are a lot more visceral sounding) there is absolutely no denying that there is some tremendous joy hearing these guys reunite for a special show in Chicago. They are all a bit older now too, so while it may be a little mellower the cd is still very enjoyable.

The guys were clearly having fun being on stage and it really was great when Glenn Porter got on the stage to drum some songs. I'm not going to flood this with hey remember when some of these guys moved onto Rise Against and they were cooler at one point? Point made. It's 5 stars easy even if the songs don't all have their original intensity. Get this album and enjoy a fantastic live performance.

The liner note is simple, but that art is great and there is a note from Denis as well. Thanks 88FL!

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Oct 23 2012 Rating: 4/5 Stars
No Harm Done -Escape CD
Click for more info

No Harm Done
Escape CD

There may not be anything particularly special about this album, it's just another high energy punk album. Yet when you have a Seinfeld joke as one of your song titles that's freaking awesome. I'd probably only give this 3 and 1/2 stars because it isn't exactly memorable, but it's fricking 7.25!!! Buy it and tell your punk friends you got a album by No Harm Done and when they say who? Play "Festivus Yes, Bagels No" and the rest of this album!

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Oct 23 2012 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Look Mexico -This Is Animal Music CD
Click for more info

Look Mexico
This Is Animal Music CD

This cd got back ordered on me, so it took awhile to get this one but when I got it; I really wasn't disappointed. There is a neat theme running through this album and generally it's good. There are some songs that didn't really grab my attention, but there are some really smooth tracks and the vocals are of that indie, emo, math rock kinda variety.

It can be reminiscent of American Football at times or other current bands inspired by that era of music like Empire, Empire (Lonely Estate). This may not be for everyone, but if you want to try something different you may be surprised and delighted at what you'll find.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Oct 23 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Jawbreaker -Unfun (Reissue) CD
Click for more info

Jawbreaker
Unfun (Reissue) CD

I always wanted to get the original copy off this website and when I finally was going to get it, the original went out of print. Thankfully it was reissued and I figured, alright it's time. The liner book is really nice and the art is all sweet looking.

This album is their rawest one though I think I like Bivouac better. That one is raw as well (I have the original cd of that). There are some truly instant classic songs on Unfun. Jawbreaker is a band you can start with any album, but starting from the beginning is a good way to go. This is essentially a must purchase! I love that cat!

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Oct 23 2012 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Menzingers -Chamberlain Waits CD
Click for more info

Menzingers
Chamberlain Waits CD

Yeah I pretty much got into this album randomly just checking things out on the net about it. So I bought this cd awhile ago and figured I'd write something. This is just a overall great high energy album. "Time Tables" is still one of my current favorite punk songs at the moment. It's just so enthusiastic and gets me up and going.

There really isn't a bad or even lackluster song on here so that's why I could even round it up to a 5. It is well worth the inexpensive price here. I just hadn't played it enough to feel that it is a solid '5' gotta love it album.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Feb 11 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Owen -I Do Perceive CD
Click for more info

Owen
I Do Perceive CD

I don't think it is possible for Mike to put out a bad album. Another bonafide five star release. Between the first three albums of his I own, it is generally impossible to pick one I like better than the other. So I would just pick between which of those appeals to you most and go with it.

I've pretty much run out of things to say heh but I believe this was the first one not recoded in Mike's bedroom. It does sound a little more open and expansive, but it still has all the elements of his past work. This one still feels intimate and has a sense of earnestness found in the last two. If you are looking for some heartfelt music that is more laid back but totally hits the mark this is it.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Feb 11 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lillingtons -Death By Television CD
Click for more info

Lillingtons
Death By Television CD

This is a fun album, that doesn't take itself too seriously. It is still some hard hitting pop punk though. I first bought a Teenage Bottlerocket cd and while it was pretty good at first and had a couple great songs, it got a little boring after awhile. So I never really think to play it much anymore. This is the singer's old band and it just seems a lot more exciting and varied. It feels like it has more staying power. The lyrics are more interesting albeit silly and a little crazy but it fits the whole kinda sci-fi horror theme. My favorite song is definitely I Need Some Brain Damage, but all the songs are good really.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Feb 11 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Appleseed Cast -Mare Vitalis CD
Click for more info

Appleseed Cast
Mare Vitalis CD

While I heard of this band I never heard any songs by them. One day I was just browsing youtube and heard one of the songs from this album and I really liked it. So I just decided to pick up one of their albums. It seems a lot of people here liked their newer albums better, but I like the raw indie rock/emo sound on this one. Every song flows well into the next one. It may lose some energy near the end, but that's largely because I'm more familiar with the first half to three fourths and didn't make it to the end in every listen so far.

I'll give it a 5 as it is closer to that than a 4. Highly recommended. I tend to hate myself when I don't find some albums sooner. So if you haven't heard anything from this album yet, I wouldn't wait much longer. It's very passionate musically and vocally.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Feb 11 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Owen -The EP CD
Click for more info

Owen
The EP CD

Another good EP by Mike Kinsella. The EPs aren't mandatory to own but they always have a couple great songs that aren't on any of his full length releases. The standout tracks on this one imo are 'Skin and Bones' and 'Breaking Away.' There is also what I presume to be the original version of 'In the morning before work' which is good, but I prefer the version on the Seaside EP where it is just Mike playing for some reason.

All said and done a pretty solid EP for under ten bucks. I would recommend his albums over the EPs, but if you can't get enough Owen (like me) these are a good addition to your collection.

Alexander from Orchard Park, NY 
Nov 11 2009 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Owen -The Seaside EP CD
Click for more info

Owen
The Seaside EP CD

This is a pretty nice EP. I pretty much jumped at this one because when I bought "No Good for No One", this had just come out and it was a limited release apparently. Anyways it isn't as good as the two other LPs I own, so I can't give it a five, but I love "I'm Not Seventeen." That is pretty much why I bought it. I just like to have the physical representation of the music anyway.

Definitely some nice songs here still, I'll just throw it a four. This is by no means necessary but a nice EP to add to your collection. I just bought the older EP though which has a song from here which I did like and a song that I just heard on youtube that I absolutely loved the first time I heard it, so we'll see what happens with that.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 48 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review







© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.