THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,232 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 64 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Howard from Boston, MA 
Jan 31 2009 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Crime Desire -Crime Desire CD
Click for more info

Crime Desire
Crime Desire CD

Although this is a discography CD, it's far too much to process in one sitting. The album works much better when you listen release-by-release. Basically, mid-tempo crusty hardcore that occasionally speeds up. It's pretty heavy and misanthropic.

Howard from Boston, MA 
Jan 31 2009 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Insect Warfare -World Extermination CD
Click for more info

Insect Warfare
World Extermination CD

Boring grindcore. I'm a fan of extreme hardcore, but this is just boring. The songs fail to stand out. Each song individually is pretty damn cool, but as a whole it's way too much.

Howard from Boston, MA 
Jan 31 2009 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Wellington -Discography CD
Click for more info

Wellington
Discography CD

Yaaaargh! Pre-Unruh ultra-metal sludge from AZ. Really good, and less same-y than the Unruh LP. If you like evil sludge like Noothgrush and Dystopia, or old-school metalcore like Integrity, this should be your bag. Possibly associated with Dwid's "Holy Terror" pseudo-movement, but I'm not 100% sure. When I do listen to it, it seems really cool. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite stick with me, and I tend to go long stretches between picking it up.

Howard from Boston, MA 
Dec 2 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
World Burns To Death -Totalitarian Sodomy CD
Click for more info

World Burns To Death
Totalitarian Sodomy CD

Even better than their first! Each song covers a different historical genocide. One of the bleakest, angriest, most serious d-beat hardcore bands. Next to Tragedy, World Burns to Death are the most important punk band of the decade. Furious, very Japanese-inspired crust-core. It takes the insane guitarwork of "Sucking..." and adds on another layer of GISM-esque heroics. Catchy, terrifying, powerful, and intelligent. The artwork and packaging are also excellent, with collage art by Sakevi of GISM and foil-stamped WBTD logos.

Howard from Bethesda, MD 
Dec 2 2008 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Universal Order of Armageddon -Universal Order of Armageddon CD
Click for more info

Universal Order of Armageddon
Universal Order of Armageddon CD

Classic mid 90s emocore, but a little too dense to listen to all at once. Chaotic, screamy, roll-on-the-floor hardcore. If you're into progressive HeartattaCk/Give Me Back -ish hardcore, early emo, or screamo, it's worth getting. Not 100 % essential, but it should be on the shortlist of 90s emo albums.

Howard from Bethesda, MD 
Dec 2 2008 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Malady -Malady CD
Click for more info

Malady
Malady CD

Ex-members of Pg. 99, City of Caterpillar. Kinda screamo, maybe post-hardcore. It's good, but just not my bag. The vocals aren't really screamy, and there's an odd rock'n'roll-ish tinge to it. It's ok, but nowhere near as catchy, intense, or important as the members' former bands.

Howard from Boston, MA 
Dec 2 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Violent Arrest -Violent Arrest CD
Click for more info

Violent Arrest
Violent Arrest CD

New band from members of Heresy, Ripcord, etc. Baz Ballam and crew are a little older and don't quite reach the speed of their old bands, but I'll be damned if this isn't a great catchy hardcore punk record. Think early-80s Boston hardcore - there's a Jerry's Kids cover, and that's a good starting point. This CD collects their discography so far, which is something like a 12" and a double 7". Really good. Not excellent, as it seems a little dated and late to the 80s-revival bandwagon, but a very good band and album. If you're a fan of UKHC and early US hardcore, then it's a must.

Howard from Bethesda, MD 
Mar 24 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Iconoclast -Discography CD
Click for more info

Iconoclast
Discography CD

Not the anarcho-punk/hardcore Iconoclast, so you crusties should probably avoid. I happen to appreciate both crust and emo, however, and this is right up my alley. Basically, this is hardcore that just begins dipping over into the territory of emo/skramz. Musically, the recordings are based in thrashy, somewhat metallic hardcore, but the vocals are that classic hard-to-hear screaming that defined the second wave of emocore. Get it.

Howard from Bethesda, MD 
Mar 24 2008 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Maximillian Colby -Discography CD
Click for more info

Maximillian Colby
Discography CD

This is another of those "essential emo albums" - you know, one of the fourfa.com-type of things. This is more Drive Like Jehu-ish: kind of post-rock-y, with long, meandering, repetitive songs, and sparse, buried vocals. The songs are simply too long for me, and the discography format prevents the album as a whole from grabbing me like "Yank Crime" does. This is another "good in small doses" album, I guess.

Howard from Bethesda, MD 
Mar 24 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
This Machine Kills -Death in the Audobon Ballroom CD
Click for more info

This Machine Kills
Death in the Audobon Ballroom CD

Fast, emo-violence-ish hardcore. Lots of samples, lots of screaming, lots of calls to end oppression and so forth. The album is good, but a little short, although the style kind of prevents it from going on too long. Great lyrics and artwork, which is expected from Ebullition. The band seems to be inspired by the Black Panther Party, which is pretty cool.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 64 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.