THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 56,278 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 17 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Nov 17 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Tossers -On A Fine Spring Evening CD
Click for more info

Tossers
On A Fine Spring Evening CD

I'm a big fan of The Tossers, but I've been a little concerned by their move to Victory Records, especially after their lack-luster The Valley of the Shadow of Death. With Agony, they returned with shorter, more rocking songs, and that continues with this release.

The Tossers come back to old stand-by topics: bars, drinking, fighting, and loves lost. The songs are short and rock with only one ballad (thankfully better than any of the ballads from the previous two albums). The Tossers are sounding more like The Pogues than they have in a while and it's welcome.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Nov 16 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Against Me! -Crime (Reissue) CD
Click for more info

Against Me!
Crime (Reissue) CD

This is the Against Me! that I love: energetic, raw, and fun. The music is stripped down to a guitar and a drum set. It's a good companion to their Reinventing Axl Rose album, sharing two of the songs. The only fault I have with this EP is that I like the album version of Walking Is Still Honest better than this version.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Nov 16 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lucero -That Much Further West CD
Click for more info

Lucero
That Much Further West CD

This alt/country/punk album is more bluesy and introspective than I usually go for. I usually listen to more energetic country that you can dance to. However, this is a very good album, from the singing, to the music, to the lyrics. I enjoy it very much.

I don't see this mentioned anywhere, but my CD came with a bonus disc containing different versions (live, acoustic, demo, or instrumental) of all twelve tracks, which is a very nice and unexpected bonus. This bonus CD is as good as the main one.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Oct 19 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Dillinger Four -Civil War CD
Click for more info

Dillinger Four
Civil War CD

6 years waiting for this, I can't help but feel mild disappointment. The sound is way more polished than previous D4 albums, which sucks the energy out of the music.

It's pretty middle of the road for D4 (which automatically makes it more enjoyable than most punk albums of late). Going back and listening to Midwestern Songs of the Americas, however, just shows me how much better it could have been.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Oct 17 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Dresden Dolls -Dresden Dolls CD
Click for more info

Dresden Dolls
Dresden Dolls CD

There's a couple of songs on here that made me take notice of the Dresden Dolls in the first place (Girl Anachronism and Bad Habit). They are fine punk songs, with all the energy and ironoy that comes along with that, mixed with an interesting cabaret style. I've always enjoyed this mixing of styles (like The Pogues and Irish folk music or Gogol Bordello with gypsy music) with more traditional punk songs and driving rythms.

Unfortunately, a lot of the songs on this album don't have that same energy. The lyrics keep the irony, anger, and comedy of punk rock, but the music is more traditional cabaret piano. It becomes uninteresting to listen to.

I personally like Yes, Virginia... (the only other Dresden Dolls album I own) better than this soley because of the more energetic music.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Oct 1 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Hutch And Kathy -Hutch And Kathy CD
Click for more info

Hutch And Kathy
Hutch And Kathy CD

Take songs with great lyrics by the members of The Thermals and set them to accoustic guitars. Hutch and Kathy write some great pop songs, but I miss the electric guitars and drums.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Oct 1 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Vindictives -Partytime For Assholes CD
Click for more info

Vindictives
Partytime For Assholes CD

The Vindictives do a cover album the "right" way; they take 25 songs and make them unmistakedly their own (even changing the lyrics where appropriate) while keeping the songs recognizable. All the songs are turned "punk" and played hard and fast. Sometimes, they even manage to make vastly supperior versions (I especially love their version of "You May Be Right").

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Jul 4 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Exploding Hearts -Shattered CD
Click for more info

Exploding Hearts
Shattered CD

Of the new songs on here, Shattered is by far and away the best. I think all the other new stuff is overshadowed by the remixes from Guitar Romantic. I would have been more happy if this was an EP, but that wouldn't have been a suitable tribute to a band of The Exploding Hearts potential.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Jul 4 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Epoxies -My New World CD
Click for more info

Epoxies
My New World CD

This is a heavier sound than "Stop the Future" with less New Wave influence (it is still there, though) and more punk rock. I don't like the song "Products" too much, but the rest is good. It seems like this is the last release by the Epoxies, but I wish that the full length that this was leading up to would have come out.

Anthony from Peoria, IL 
Mar 14 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Lillingtons -The Too Late Show CD
Click for more info

Lillingtons
The Too Late Show CD

Sounds OK, but is bland. All the songs run together and aren't particularly exciting. I forget I even own this album until it pops up on random, and then I have to look to see which generic pop-punk band just came on.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 17 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.