THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 51,505 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold
Special Order Clothing






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 61 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
May 4 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Citizens Patrol -Sick Routine 7

Citizens Patrol
Sick Routine 7"

This Dutch band is on the label owned by one of the guys from Direct Control & they pretty much are a Dutch version of that band. Short blasts of no-nonsense, fast hardcore that should get your fist pumping in no time. Unrelenting stuff that should please the thrashers out there, of which I am one! Great!!

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
May 4 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Born Bad -Born Bad 7

Born Bad
Born Bad 7"

This is their first release & although their 2nd 7" shows an improvement, this is still pretty raging. The one let down is the production, which is quite raw. Now, I normally like rawness in my hardcore, but this time it kinda dilutes some of the power from these tracks. You know that these tracks would kick even more ass if the production was better. Oh well, I'd suggest you still grab a hold of this if NEGATIVE APPROACH is your kind of thing as this fits the bill perfectly.

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 19 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Ecoli -Ecoli 7

Ecoli
Ecoli 7"

Really wild, coming-apart-at-the-seams-yet-just-keeping-it-together core. Feedback-laden & frantic, keeping the intensity up throughout these 8 short blasts of insanity. A real kick in the head & just goes to prove that those who say that hardcore is a spent force simply do not have a clue. Bands like this are keeping things fresh & in yer face. Like a VOID for the noughties.

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 19 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Poison Control -Violent Years 7

Poison Control
Violent Years 7"

These guys are in a similar mould to their fellow Bostonians, SOCIAL CIRKLE ie old-style hardcore, though a good bit less thrashy, taking a more punky style that allows the tunes to break through. Has an early BLACK FLAG feel to it (how's that for a lazy comparison?!) which is good news in my book. The last track slows things down further to give the track a melancholy feel. Would have liked to hear more from these guys, but they seem to have broken up. A real pity as they certainly had the goods. Nice provocative cover as well!!

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 19 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Bill Bondsmen/Out Cold -Split 7

Bill Bondsmen/Out Cold
Split 7"

Well, OUT COLD have been hammering 'em out for umpteen years & their style hasn't wavered in all that time. Is that a good thing (consistency) or a bad thing (stuck in a rut?) I'll certainly go for the former as their straight-forward fast attack is always a winner, even if these aren't necessarily their best tunes. Still good, though. BILL BONDSMEN are a pretty cool Michigan band with an old school Mid-west feel to their hardcore - DIE KREUZEN? Maybe, as they have a slightly different feel to their sound with some nasty-ass vocals. Pretty solid stuff, overall.

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 15 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
86 Mentality -Final Exit 7

86 Mentality
Final Exit 7"

Well, it appears this is the Mentality's last release, as the title alludes to, & a great way to go it is, too! More of their mid-paced hardcore attack continuing in the vein of their other 7"s, so if you like them then this will float yer boat, too. If you've never heard them, then I'd compare them to their fellow Washington DC bretheren of yore, such as IRON CROSS, ARTIFICIAL PEACE, YOUTH BRIGADE - basically many of the "Flex Your Head" era DCHC bands, but with more modern production values & gruffer vocals. The last track "Out Of Control" is quite reminiscent of the first BAD RELIGION LP. Great shit!!

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 7 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Born Bad -Moron Music 7

Born Bad
Moron Music 7"

Whoa! This label releases some great hardcore! Balls-out rage from these Canadian nutters. No prisoners taken in either a musical or lyrical sense & that's the way I like my hardcore. Tough-as-nails stuff with a New York HC feel to it, without the metal leanings some of those bands had. Negative Approach could be an influence on these guys, too. The breakdown on "Kill The Punks" makes me want to skank around the room - or at least clench my fist & grit my teeth. I may be closing in fast on my 40th year, but Born Bad can still make me feel like the 15 year old who was blown away the first time he heard hardcore & that's no mean feat. Honestly, this is great stuff!!

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Apr 7 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Civic Progress -Disposable 7

Civic Progress
Disposable 7"

Occassionly I get burned-out listening to hardcore, but there are records that you slap on the ol' turntable that renew the faith, & this is definately one of them. Their first 7" was pretty smart, but this blows that one outta the water. Fast as hell with song-writing chops to die for. Intense lyrics to match the intense musical wares, too, taking digs at our raping of the environment amongst other subjects. Maybe that's the reason the packaging is quite basic with the record coming in a plain inner-sleeve with the band name & title stamped on the front, & a lyric sheet inside. Smart & raging at the same time. Love it!

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Jan 14 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
First Step -What We Know LP
Click for more info

First Step
What We Know LP

I suppose we can all be a bit cynical when it comes to bands like THE FIRST STEP. By that I mean they tick all the boxes for youth crew style hardcore: gang vocals (no overkill, though), positive lyrics, INSTED/YOUTH OF TODAY/NO FOR AN ANSWER influences, blah, blah, blah...These guys may be downing beers in a few years, but taken at face value this is really good stuff. This Lp is so full o' beans that it makes this cynical old git wanna point my finger & jump about the room like some 16 year old kid. I can't think of a better recommendation.

Adam from Glasgow, United Kingdom 
Jan 9 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Violent Minds -We Are Nothing LP
Click for more info

Violent Minds
We Are Nothing LP

Absolutely rippin' hardcore from these crazies. Even rawer than their other releases, the production is a bit rough (was it deliberate or was it the mastering?), but this can't take away from the rage contained in these 8 tracks. I hear a more UK-influenced style in places that makes me think of the VARUKERS at their prime, along with their classic US'82 style. A great mix! Like their "Eyes Of Death" LP, the final track here is in a more metal style, like MOTORHEAD or one of the NWBHM bands. A bit of a mis-step, but the rest is fantastic. Snap this up immediately!!

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 61 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review







© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.