THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 55,395 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 18 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 22 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Snitches Get Stitches -I Liked You Better When You Were A Corpse CD
Click for more info

Snitches Get Stitches
I Liked You Better When You Were A Corpse CD

If you like the Blood Brothers (and I don't), skip this and buy this immediately. Snitches Get Stitches' brand of spazzrock is much more listenable and catchy than that band's, and they've got a pretty pretentious attitude to boot, which is a must for Blood Brother fans.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 22 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Silkworm -Italian Platinum CD
Click for more info

Silkworm
Italian Platinum CD

If there ever was a band that stood as the epitome of "decent," these guys are it. Although Silkworm's brand of straight-forward indie rock doesn't offer any real surprises, there are enough differences between tracks not to bore the listener. The vocals, instrumentation, and lyrics are all above-average, but not enough to place this album at the top of your collection. I personally won't be buying any more Silkworm albums, as I feel that this one covers all that these guys were capable of (R.I.P., by the way); I do want to reiterate that I like this CD, but it simply doesn't offer quite enough surprises to compel me to look into their complete discography. If you can find this at a decent price, it's worth it...I guess.

3.5/5, but I'll round it up.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 22 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Toys That Kill -Control The Sun CD
Click for more info

Toys That Kill
Control The Sun CD

These guys serve up a pretty decent brand of raw pop punk. Although the music on the whole is solid, the singer takes a while to get used to - he has somewhat of a Southern drawl, which calls to mind an angry Conservative hick rather than a punk rocker. Also, the last four tracks on this record are completely disposable, and should have never been put onto plastic, let alone recorded. Other than that, all's pretty damn good.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 22 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Les Savy Fav -Inches CD
Click for more info

Les Savy Fav
Inches CD

I had heard so many great things about Les Savy Fav that I went in to this expecting an amazing album. While there are certainly some great songs on here (most of which make up the first 7-8 tracks; this compilation starts with Les Savy Fav's newer stuff and works toward their older, shakier material), on the whole this CD fails to keep my interest for its 70-minute duration. There really isn't much cohesion at all, but that's to be expected with collections.

The DVD included with the album, by the way, is amazing. Extensive commentary for each song, with bonus footage of the band in action. Make sure you get a copy that includes a DVD, otherwise you'll be missing out on a lot.

I give INCHES a 3.5/5, but I'll round it up to a 4. Dancepunk isn't one of my favorite genres, and perhaps that explains why this CD didn't entirely do it for me.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 20 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Akimbo -Forging Steel And Laying Stone CD
Click for more info

Akimbo
Forging Steel And Laying Stone CD

FORGING STEEL AND LAYING STONE marks not only the band's first release for legendary punk label Alternative Tentacles, but also shows their maturity and headfirst dive into a new sound yet again. From start to finish, it is a solid thirty-eight minutes and fifty-one seconds of back-to-back riff, bridging the gap between riff-heavy rock like Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin and straight-up hardcore, with brief stop-offs in sludge, melodic, and speed variations of both genres.

The production on this album is finally up to par with the band's sound live. One of the main problems that previous albums have had has been trying to produce the album so it sounds like the band does when it plays live, which is loud as hell and chaotic while being organized and spot-on rhythmically.

Let it be known that this album is a flawless fruition of the labors of a band that's been playing for eight long years. Sing out the praises, ring the bells, tell every one of your snot-nosed friends which album they need to cram down their throats and spew forth adoring prayers of sacrifice about how the new Gods of Rock have landed.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
May 20 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ryan's Hope -Apocalypse In Increments CD
Click for more info

Ryan's Hope
Apocalypse In Increments CD

After their somewhat underwhelming debut release (Sommerset), Punknews Records gets it right with this one. Ryan's Hope play a pretty standard brand of melodic hardcore, with few surprises and no expirementation, but they possess all the elements that make a solid punk band. Technically, these guys are up there with Strung Out (but I'd say they sound much fresher than that dying horse). Keep on with the orgcore, Punknews.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
Apr 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ringers -Curses CD
Click for more info

Ringers
Curses CD

Gritty punk much in the same vein as Dillinger Four! Are they as good as D4? No, of course not: this CD offers respectable lyrics, good song arrangements, the wonderfully chaotic and overbearing guitars associated with Midwestern punk bands...but it just isn't D4. Of course, since Paddy & Co. are seemingly too busy thinking up strawberry shortcake recipes and other such things, this will have to do for now.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
Apr 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Invisible Eyes -Laugh In The Dark CD
Click for more info

Invisible Eyes
Laugh In The Dark CD

If the White Stripes were a good band, they'd sound like this. Or: imagine a far more tripped-out, less bluesy Black Keys. The vocalist sounds a bit weird at times, but it fits in well with the lo-fi, but guitar-driven, music. It's on Bomp!, so of course I recommend it.

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
Apr 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Marked Men -On The Outside CD
Click for more info

Marked Men
On The Outside CD

As someone just getting into the Dirtnap roster, I must say that this CD is quite the introduction! Immediately-catchy pop punk with no filler whatsoever. They manage to sound more "classic" than the Briefs; it probably has to do with the raw production (which is a good thing in this case, mind you). By keeping things short and sweet, the Marked Men accomplish in 29 minutes something that a band like the Mars Volta can't accomplish in a whole career: an album you don't ever feel like turning off. 4.2 out of 5 rather than the 4 indicated above...

Jean-francois from Canton De Hatley, PQ Canada 
Apr 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Yaphet Kotto -Syncopated Synthetic Laments For Love CD
Click for more info

Yaphet Kotto
Syncopated Synthetic Laments For Love CD

Although I'm not a huge fan of emo (the real kind, mind you), I have to admit that this CD is pretty great. The singer's voice isn't too growly or whiny, and the instrumentation is intense and varied. Although I think I'll stick with just one Yaphet Kotto album for now, I don't regret buying it.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 18 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.