THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 55,421 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 51 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Dan from Lawrenceville, GA 
Aug 19 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Superchunk -Leaves In The Gutter CD
Click for more info

Superchunk
Leaves In The Gutter CD

Each song is just like Misfits and Mistakes, same great Superchunk sound with a tighter sound and Mac's singing being better than ever. The first song, Learn to Surf, will be on the bands upcoming album, Majesty Shreddings. Plus, Misfits and Mistakes is also on there, which is seriously worth the price. Superchunk has always been a great band, and it's great to see that they're still getting better 20 years into things!

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Apr 27 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Black And Whites -The Black And Whites CD
Click for more info

Black And Whites
The Black And Whites CD

Lets get one thing straight right now. If it's on Douchemaster, it's most certainly worth a listen. These dudes from Mississippi are no exception. They play an interesting blend of garage rock and 70s-style punk that could be compared with acts like The Stooges, The Undertones, and a slight hint of The Brian Jonestown Massacre or The Jesus and Mary Chain minus the shoegazy, moodiness. They even have a little bit of an 80s hardcore influence in a few songs. Either way, The Black and Whites are catchy as hell, and this debut full-length (and first CD release for Douchemaster) is a winner. This band and others on Douchemaster records are part of a great punk rock underground that is not to be missed.

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Apr 12 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Black Halos -We Are Not Alone CD
Click for more info

Black Halos
We Are Not Alone CD

Ah Canada's Black Halos! I actually haven't always liked these guys. I saw them open for The Queers a few years back, and I thought they were a total trainwreck, especially singer, Billy Hopeless. Think of an even more drunken/doped-up Dee Dee Ramone attempting a Stiv Bators stage presence, and that's what he was like. I didn't exactly like them, but I will admit that I was intrigued. Flash forward to almost a year ago, and friend of mine was playing me a comp tape he had made, and the song that really seemed to capture my attention was a cover of Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers' "I Need to Know" by none other than The Black Halos. I had to have a copy of that cover so I broke down and bought Alive Without Control, their last album. Needless to say, I loved it, and then this record, We Are Not Alone, came out. I can say right now that this one is just as good as Alive Without Control. What's so great about The Halos is how they blend the old raunchy punk sound of The Dead Boys or, perhaps, the New York Dolls with a catchiness that's not far off from bands like The Queers, The McRackins, or The Parasites. This sound was very present on their last album, and it's still present on this one on songs like "Madame Merlot" and "Princess St. Princess". Of course, their primary NY punk influences shine through on the sleazy "Suck City" and the bitter "Damaged Goods". Basically, this record is an excellent buy if you like the old stuff and wish more bands played music in that vein.

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Apr 12 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Methadones -This Won't Hurt CD
Click for more info

Methadones
This Won't Hurt CD

I've been into The Methandones since Ill At Ease, and their records only seem to get better and better. This one has a lot more of a power-pop sound, but that's no problem for me. Vapid (Dan Schafer for those you who didn't come to know him through Screeching Weasel first) still manages to crank out some seriously catchy songs. In my opinion, this is some of his best efforts, ever. And I'm not just speaking in terms of Methadones tunes. That includes his work with Sludgeworth, The Mopes, and The Riverdales as well. If you're no longer a young punk, you'll definitely relate to the songs on here. Vapid manages to capture the weird, awkward sensations felt while being a part of today's rapidly changing punk scene. Even if you are a young, naive punk, you can at least apprectiate Vapid's snarky remarks toward Warped Tour on "Getting Older/Losing Touch". This is easily a record for everybody, even those that aren't punk fans.

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Jan 25 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Caustic Christ -Lycanthropy CD
Click for more info

Caustic Christ
Lycanthropy CD

Personally, I just can't get enough of Caustic Christ. Their fast, angry sound is just what I need to help relieve the stress and frustration of everyday life. This record, Lycanthropy, is their second full-length, and it's just as rad as Can't Relate, their first one. The first track, "The Caustic Curse", reminds me of the heavy, slow numbers off of Black Flag's My War. The second track is a neck-breaking nod to JFA and that guy who tried to assasinate Reagan. The other tracks deal with destructive relationships, religion, and political matters through the bands fast, pissed-off fury. My favorite track is "Medicated" which warns about the dangers of prescription drugs. The band's albums seem to always be short, but luckily they always keep us, the fans, in mind and include bonus tracks. The cuts from Government Job, their last 7", are featured on this disc. Basically, this record is just as much a winner as their last one. Check it out, and go wreak havoc at your work or school!

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Jan 25 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Nausea -Punk Terrorist Anthology Vol. 1 CD
Click for more info

Nausea
Punk Terrorist Anthology Vol. 1 CD

It doesn't really matter what kind of music you're into. At some point in time you have give props to Nausea. They were about as DIY as it gets, they were unusually creative and they were a huge influence on countless bands to come. And most of all, they rocked harder than Gary Glitter at a little-league baseball game! Sure, their politics were a little bit far-reaching at times. Most political sentiments from anarcho/peace/crust (whatever the kids are calling it these days) bands are. But Nausea, fusing thrash, crust, punk, hardcore and even reggae with their male/female vocal assault, made their whole radical, apocalyptic opus work, and this anthology is raw proof. Add this to your collection now!

Dan from Suwanee, GA 
Jan 8 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bad Brains -Bad Brains (Yellow, Red, or Black Vinyl) LP
Click for more info

Bad Brains
Bad Brains (Yellow, Red, or Black Vinyl) LP

I would give this a formal review, but it's not really neccesary. We all know how much this record rules. It's essential to hardcore and punk, and it's essential to everyone's collection. Plus, it sounds even better on vinyl. So, get it.

Dan from Snellville, GA 
Nov 28 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Ben Weasel -These Ones Are Bitter (W/ CD Version Of Album) LP
Click for more info

Ben Weasel
These Ones Are Bitter (W/ CD Version Of Album) LP

I was so excited when this record finally came out on a tangible format. I was worried Ben wouldn't actually release it. Thank God he did. It's his best work in several years. His voice sounds the best it's ever been, and the music is well-crafted with plenty of hooks to keep the listener engaged. The songs have more of a power-pop feel, so all the snotty "old-schoolers" aren't going to like the record that much. But I find These Ones are Bitter to be mesmorizing. Mike Kennerty did an excellent job producing this record, and his musicianship really added a lot to the mix. Hopefully, Ben will continue to work with him. This record is outstanding and is probably my favorite of the year.

Dan from Snellville, GA 
Nov 28 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Government Warning -No Moderation CD
Click for more info

Government Warning
No Moderation CD

It's about damn time a good hardcore band came out. With all of the thug-core, sissy-core dog-squeeze coming out these days, Government Warning is an absolute breath of fresh air. No Moderation is a blaring declaration of contempt for a society pacified by mediocrity and stupidity. There's no lame, trendy, gym-shorts-wearing crap going on here. It's just good, old-fashioned hardcore the way its meant to be. For fans of Minor Threat, Negative Approach, Jerry's Kids, and Negative FX.

Dan from Snellville, GA 
Nov 28 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Caustic Christ -Can't Relate CD
Click for more info

Caustic Christ
Can't Relate CD

This is an excellent hardcore record. The fast angry sound reminds me of an unholy union between Poison Idea and Discharge. Plus, there are some dark moments that bring to mind Black Sabbath. This CD includes the band's first few 7's as bonus tracks. They're much heavier sounding than the Can't Relate tracks, but the same feeling is present. This is highly recommended to anyone who likes hardcore the way it should be, fast, loud, and sick. Oh yeah. For the record, I was never an Aus Rotten fan, so if you hate Aus Rotten, don't write this band off. They're not the same.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 51 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.