THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,729 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 31 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Dec 28 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Bouncing Souls -Gold Record CD
Click for more info

Bouncing Souls
Gold Record CD

I have been a fan of the Bouncing Souls for quite some time now and I must say that this album has a different sound than their older material. It is softer and more mature sounding than their older stuff. While the songs aren't as fast-paced and lighthearted as past material, there is definitely something about that is very enjoyable. The signature cheesy punk songs are still there (see "The Pizza Song", "Sarah Saturday", "Better Things") but there are others that go above and beyond what is expected from this band (see "Letters From Iraq", "Midnight Mile", "So Jersey", "Sounds Of The City", "For All The Unheard"). I love the Souls and I think as far as they go, this album definitiely deserves five stars. The reason I give it a four is that I have started to grow out of a lot of the free-spirited cheese-punk a bit and some of it shows on this album. For others, this will be the selling point because those songs are classic Souls. But where this album really packs its punch is in the new sound and maturity. I really enjoy it.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Nov 25 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Greg Graffin -Cold As the Clay CD
Click for more info

Greg Graffin
Cold As the Clay CD

Greg Graffin is just plain fun to listen to because of his interesting songwriting and unique voice. I enjoyed American Lesion, and this is somewhat in the same vein only it's folk music instead. Many of the songs are traditional folk songs, which Greg pulls off rather well. You'll especially enjoy this if you like the idea of punk artists with folk roots. And if you are a hardcore Bad Religion fan like me, you will love it on principle alone. Pick it up, you'll enjoy it.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Aug 5 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Rise Against -Sufferer & The Witness CD
Click for more info

Rise Against
Sufferer & The Witness CD

This album is MUCH better than Siren Song of the Counter Culture. I was very impressed. It's not any louder or faster than I could have predicted, but believe it or not, there are actually people out there who believed they would return to their Unraveling and RPM style. A word to the wise: that practically NEVER happens with ANY band. The songwriting is very solid and the musicianship and subject matter is what can be expected from Rise Against. This is an excellent album for first-time RA listeners, and I recommend it completely.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Apr 9 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Marathon -Marathon CD
Click for more info

Marathon
Marathon CD

I really enjoyed this album. Overall, I was impressed, but sometimes the vocals and lyrics are kind of awkward and out of place, like stretching words to fit the syllable count, for example. They mostly sound like Epitaph-style melodic punk, but there are some harder and softer elements thrown in there to decentralize it. Some of the songs are political and some are just fun. Overall, an imperfect album that is better than average and worth the purchase, a 4 out of 5.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Mar 28 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Good Clean Fun -Positively Positive 1997-2002 CD
Click for more info

Good Clean Fun
Positively Positive 1997-2002 CD

I'm going to be honest, I haven't listened to this all the way through and that's because there are too many songs on it. I enjoyed their newest album and the reason this gets three stars is this: one star comes off because while they are a cool, fun hardcore band, there is little to no variation in their sound. The other star comes off because as far as anthologies go, this one is hard to swallow. While it is cheaper to buy this than to purchase the other albums separately, I think that doing just that would make it easier to enjoy each song individually, and they may be related to reason number one.

I enjoy it for it giving me the ability to hear one song at a time when every once and a while when my music library is on random, but I can't really memorize too many of them because the songs are all very similar and I could never listen to them all in a row. I recommend their newest effort because of its value as a single album and the fact that it is quite good anyway.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Mar 28 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
A Global Threat -Earache/Pass The Time CD
Click for more info

A Global Threat
Earache/Pass The Time CD

This album gets a 4 out of 5 because it's not nearly as good as "Until We Die," "What The Fuck Will Change," or "Where The Sun Never Sets." It is a big improvement over "Here We Are" and it is somewhat of a mix between that and their newest effort. There are only 6 songs on it and they are all loud and fast. If you are thinking about buying this, then you either have already heard their other material or you are making a mistake by buying this first. This was the last of theirs that I purchased and I believe that it probably be the last one you buy. It's still good though.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Mar 28 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
From First To Last -Heroine CD
Click for more info

From First To Last
Heroine CD

Okay, here we go. This should be interesting. Let me get a few things out there. First of all, lots of people hate this band because of their fashion, which actually makes sense to me because they do try way too hard to look like they had a shopping spree at Hot Topic. But despite this, their first full-length was really good (their EP sucked, I don't care what you think). It was a bit generic at times and some people just hate emocore in general, but I really enjoyed it for some reason. Despite the fact that lots of people hate them, them their last album was indeed solid for what it was.

This album, however, is completely different. Gone for the most part is the emocore and in comes the emo- industrial- metal... thing. I would like to point out that I really don't care for that kind of music at all. Luckily, knowing who they were before hand saved it for me a little. The best tracks on here are probably the first ones released, "The Levy" and "The Latest Plague." Two other songs, "...And We All Have A Hell" and "The Crows Are Coming For Us" piss me off everytime, because after a huge build up beforehand, the choruses are really weak and lack energy completey. "Mothersound" is pretty good but way too repetitive. Most of the middle tracks are okay I guess but nothing to get excited about. On the other hand, without them, the album would have pretty much nothing besides the singles. "Waves Goodbye" is an interesting slowdown that I actually like. There's not a whole lot to it, but I think it's a nice change of pace. "Waltz Moore," an intimate song about self-loathing that has a strange effect on you. Because while the lyrics seem like they could be heartfelt and honest, you always end up telling yourself that if Sonny is being the least bit insincere, then he deserves a punch in the face for writing something so adolescent and cheesy. The last track, "Heroine," is nothing more than an excuse to end the album, it has some dramatic build ups and so high-pitched howling of the lyrics, but it just fades out into nothingness halfway through.

The artwork had no effect on me whatsoever and I honestly could have done without it. If you looked at the cover, then you pretty much got the concept, with the exception of the random "heroine" female shown posing with each band member. Overall, I was let down by this album, but I wasn't expecting much because as soon as I heard about it, I pretty much knew what it would be. I didn't know if 3 stars was too harsh or too generous, so I guess that means that 3 stars is just right. If you are the kind of person who liked them already, then you will probably love this. Since I'm not a total scenester like many of their fans are, I was able to see the flaws. To each his own, I suppose.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Mar 28 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Anti-Flag -For Blood And Empire CD
Click for more info

Anti-Flag
For Blood And Empire CD

Ok, let's see. Anti-Flag has always been a great punk band. People who are all about uncompromising, loud, fast street punk but don't really care about anything else (like melody and distinguishable talent) will always love Die For The Government the most followed by A New Kind of Army, but honestly each record has been much better than the last. Mobilize topped Underground Network and the BYO Split topped that. The Terror State was a masterpiece all the way through and I was hoping that this album would be even better, but I don't think I can say that it's true. This album is a great album, but by Anti-Flag's standards, it's only good.

One problem is that they fill this album with one too many cliches, and it's not the fact that they use cliches that ruins it, but it's because they are cliches that they have used before (see "Project For A New American Century" and "The W.T.O. Kills Farmers"). Some may be astonished by the poppiness of tracks like "This Is The End (For You My Friend)" and "Cities Burn". That doesn't mean that those songs are bad, but it's just something to think about. Fans of loud and fast Anti-Flag will enjoy "Emigre", "I'd Tell You But...", "State Funeral" amd "Depleted Uranium Is A War Crime," the last three of which could have easily been on The Terror State by the sound of them. Most of the songs are good, especially "The Press Corpse" and "1 Trillion Dollar$" the latter of which is probably only good because it almost sounds like it could have been from Justin's solo project and it's kind of dumb and funny.

The packaging is interesting. The sleeve sucks really, but that's only because (and some may deny it) it is a form of censorship a-la the Terror State's alternate sleeve. Major labels don't want people seeing the real cover for ovvious, major-label reasons. The artwork is cool I guess, but nothing compares to the craftsman ship and effort put into The Terror State's package. And sometimes when I look at it, with the exception of the White House shot, I feel like they kinda half-assed it. They put some good information in there in terms of essays and such, but it's sort of hard to sit there and read all of it because the black on red and white is a bit hard on the eyes.

Overall, I would recommend this to any fan of Anti-Flag, but punker-than-thou punx may want to beware. I think this album was meant to introduce broader audiences to Ant-Flag's music and message and in that, it has succeeded astonishingly, at least it will if lots of people buy it. It has some of the old (harder tracks), some of the new (poppy tracks) and good old fashioned predictable Anti-Flag slogans. So enjoy as much of can of it. I got a free t-shirt with the purchase, so I'm not complaining.

Chris from Aurora, OH 
Mar 28 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fire When Ready -As The Sky Stared Down With Angry Clouds CD
Click for more info

Fire When Ready
As The Sky Stared Down With Angry Clouds CD

This album is very good but there is something that keeps me from giving it a higher score. The music is awesome and the lyrics are interesting. I think there are points when the vocals sound a bit awkward, so that's probably why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5. But you should definitely check this out if you are into indie rock with a pop and a pinch of an electronica sound. Check them out on purevolume because the whole album is about as quality as the preview tracks.

Chris from Bowling Green, OH 
Feb 9 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
A Global Threat -Where The Sun Never Sets CD
Click for more info

A Global Threat
Where The Sun Never Sets CD

I can't give this album a 5 because there are 18 songs, which means there are obviously going to be a couple that are mediocre, but this album really surprised me. It wasn't what I expected from AGT, but that's not at all bad. Their first two albums were superb, but then Mark left the band and the next full length was nothing special. After that, I expected them to just kind of fall off the face of the earth. But then I heard about his and bought it immediately. I thought it would be like Here We Are, but it's not. It's much better. Most of the screams are completely gone. Now there are only the growls and what appears to be some clean singling and gang vocals.

What is fantastic about the album is that it strays from the straight-up street punk that they are known for. Where The Sun Never Sleeps is a huge throwback to old school punk and hardcore like Minor Threat, Dead Kennedys and Black Flag. In fact, there is only a trace musically of the old AGT on this album in my opinion (although the lyrics are still there but they are really good), but I think that's a good thing because without Mark Unseen, they couldn't really pull it off anymore. You might have seen it coming if you heard the Earache/Pass The Time EP, as it now seem to be a bit of a transtional record, although not as different as WTSNS.

Finally, the production seems a tad low on this album and I wonder if it was intentional, because it definitely makes you feel like you are listening to one of the classics from the 80s. It doesn't really take away fromt the experience, and for some, it may enhance it.

I was very pleased and if you saw anything in this review that interested you, pick it up.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 31 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.