THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,842 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

Winter CLEARANCE Sale
View Colored Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
20% OFF Small Merch
Exclusive Limited Vinyl






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Nov 7 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Boxcar Racer -Boxcar Racer DVD
Click for more info

Boxcar Racer
Boxcar Racer DVD

My name is Josh. Anyway, I've had this DVD for about a year because it says I only have 2 days left to review it. Honestly, I only watched it once when I got it and I just watched it again. First off, this is not the best band DVD I've ever seen. It's also not the worst, but it definitely is one of the shortest. I was a little upset about the short length, but for only 10 bucks, it's a pretty good deal.

Well, what can I say about Boxcar Racer? I love them. They're cd was awesome and easily surpassed a lot of punk bands lyrically and musically. I never caught them on tour and that sucks, but hopefully they'll put out at least one more record. Blink 182 may have "broken up" even though I think they'll come back with a new one eventually, but they can't forget about their other projects can they? They shouldn't. Even though I love Blink 182 and they'll always hold a place in my heart because they were the first punk band I really got into, Boxcar Racer is just musically better and they absolutely have to put out more records.

But yes, this DVD is worth it if you like Boxcar Racer or Blink 182. It has some live footage, some behind the scenes stuff, and the There Is and I Feel So music videos. Like I said, it's short, but I would easily recommend it to fans. If you don't have the album though, get that first. It's amazing. I'll give it 5 stars because I doubt they'll get back together.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Sep 16 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
None More Black -File Under Black CD
Click for more info

None More Black
File Under Black CD

My name's Josh. I first heard None More Black on the Rock Against Bush Volume 1 compilation. It was by far one of my favorite tracks on there. I loved the whole raspy voice and fast punk rock guitar on that song. It was very pleasing to my ears. I decided to buy their full length, File Under Black. The first two tracks started off the record with a lot of intensity. They were awesome. Then it started to weaken a little bit track by track, but near the end it picked up again. This isn't the best album I've ever heard, but it's by far not the worst. I expected a lot from them because I based everything I knew about them off of that one track from Rock Against Bush. So yes, I was somewhat disappointed, but I still listen to it non-stop. That's a testament to how good this band is. The vocals are what makes this band a good punk rock band. If it wasn't for that, they'd be another lame mediocre band. So I say give this a shot. It is very good and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Sep 15 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Straight Outta Junior High -Mongoloid Monarchy CD
Click for more info

Straight Outta Junior High
Mongoloid Monarchy CD

The name is Josh. Straight Outta Junior High is a very interesting band. They're not one of those regular punk rock bands like everyone else. They're different, but not different enough to stand out from the other regular punk rock bands. It's somewhat confusing, but here it is. I had read good things about this band and how funny they were, so I bought their debut release, Here's A Ray Of Hope To Someone With An Inferiority Complex. That release was indeed very good and very funny. I gave it a perfect 5 stars here on Interpunk. I'm yet to get Kiss Of Deaf, but when I found out they had a new album coming out, I had to buy it. I was expecting a lot from them since I fell in love with their debut release. Mongoloid Monarchy is not a bad CD by all means, but it's not nearly as funny as Here's A Ray Of Hope.... To be honest, I only chuckled on one song. I guess they did use most of their good ideas with earlier songs. There are only so many songs you can write about boners and STD's. I understand that, but still the bar was set high and it's hard to hit that. Ultimately, this is still a good pop punk release from a good band, but I would recommend Here's A Ray Of Hope To Someone With An Inferiority Complex first.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
May 10 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
MXPX -B-Movie (With Bonus Acoustic EP) DVD
Click for more info

MXPX
B-Movie (With Bonus Acoustic EP) DVD

The name's Josh. This DVD/EP is absolutely amazing. I agree with both people below me that this EP is simply brilliant. It is easily some of MXPX's best work. MXPX isn't usually an acoustic band, but this EP makes them sound like they should be. Invitation To Understanding is, without a doubt in my mind, one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard. And believe me, I wasn't expecting much from this EP. Most bands who put out EP's just do it for a sneak preview teaser of their new album, but MXPX did it out of gratitude for their fans and I was pleasantly surprised when I was popping this EP in non-stop after I purchased it. It is a nice change from the usual MXPX stuff, which is also very good. Now on to the DVD. This DVD, while not the best band DVD I've ever seen, is also very good. It is not like a movie like the person below tries to make it out to be. It shows MXPX on the road and what they do. They pull pranks on each other and just do random stuff that is very enjoyable to watch and surprisingly funny. They talk about when and how they practice and many other things, including how they decided to make this EP. All in all, this is an awesome DVD and the best EP I've ever heard from any band. If you like MXPX, please please pick this up. You will not be disappointed. If you're just getting into them, I highly recommend this as your first purchase along with Life In General or Slowly Going the Way of the Buffalo. 5 out of 5 stars, easily.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Apr 25 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Comeback Kid -Turn It Around CD
Click for more info

Comeback Kid
Turn It Around CD

My name is Josh. First off, this album is an interesting album to review. It's unlike almost everything else I've heard, but not so different that it stands out from everything else. If I had to compare Comeback Kid to anybody, it would have to be Refused because they are both hardcore punk bands. Comeback Kid doesn't scream nearly as much and they're just all around not as good as Refused, obviously. Not to say this is a bad release. This is as solid a hardcore punk album as they come. Personally, I like Comeback Kid's sophomore release, Wake The Dead, better, but this has it's moments. If you like good hardcore, good punk, good hardcore punk, or good music at all, pick this one up, but not before Wake The Dead or anything by Refused.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Mar 28 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Straight Outta Junior High -Here's A Ray Of Hope To Someone WIth An Inferiority Complex CD
Click for more info

Straight Outta Junior High
Here's A Ray Of Hope To Someone WIth An Inferiority Complex CD

My name's Josh. Anyway.....Every now and then there will be a CD that you've read about and you're just so damn curious to how it sounds that you can't help but pick it up. For me, this is one of those CD's. I went to their website and listened to a few songs, thought they were pretty good, read reviews here on Interpunk, and finally decided to buy it. What a good decision that was. This release is hilarious. If you enjoy good humor, or just good punk in general, this is a great CD to spend your hard earned money on. Boner is a great song. It's about how he has a boner in class and the teacher asks him to go to the board but he doesn't want to because it would be embarrassing, or something like that. I didn't hear half of it because I was laughing so hard. It boils down to this. Sometimes you have to take chances on music or you'll miss out on something great, and this is one you'll regret. And with this price, what is there to lose?

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Mar 28 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fenix Tx -Fenix Tx CD
Click for more info

Fenix Tx
Fenix Tx CD

My name's Josh. Well what is there to say about Fenix TX that hasn't already been said? This is a good release from a good band. It's nothing you're going to go crazy for, but nothing you'll shun away from. Personally, I like their sophomore release, Lechuza, better. After they broke up, the two guitarists, if I remember correctly, started a new band called Denver Harbor. I own that CD also and believe it is better than this CD too. This album does have it's moments though. Rooster Song is down-right hilarious and Minimum Wage is one of the better tracks on here. While I would give Lechuza and Denver Harbor's release, Scenic, 5 stars, I am only giving this release 4 stars, but it is still a very good CD and nothing I'm going to put down anytime soon.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Feb 28 2005 Rating: 3/5 Stars
My Chemical Romance -I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love CD
Click for more info

My Chemical Romance
I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love CD

My name's Josh. Ok, good things. Alright people, let's face it: this cd is not as good as My Chemical Romance's sophomore release, Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge. It seems to me that most people like this one much more, and I don't think it's because you think it's better. Most of you got into this type of music by listening to something mainstream. It's a fact. But since listening to mainstream isn't "cool" anymore, lots of people try to keep an image. Don't deny it. It's true. I listen to a fair share of mainstream along with some underground stuff I doubt most people have heard of. But think this, mainstream bands are mainstream why? Because they are doing what they do very well. It doesn't matter what type of music. Even My Chemical Romance was recently in the top 10 countdown on MTV. They're getting popular. This will probably make some "hardcore" MCR fans cry and piss their pants. Get over it. The new CD is getting popular because it is good. Listen to Thank You For The Venom and Hang 'Em High and tell me this release is better than the newer one. It's not. This release doesn't have the blazing guitar riffs and intros as Three Cheers. Gerard's vocals are also off. His voice sounds like it was just getting past the point of puberty. He hadn't found a good tune for his voice. Mainly, he just half screamed and half sung almost every song. It's not nearly as good as the new one and don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan, but all you so called punks need to face it: IT'S NOT THAT GREAT. Most debut releases from any band aren't great. They've gotten a whole lot better and I think they'll keep progressing forward with better and better music. Stop living in the past and pick up Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge if you haven't yet.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Jan 25 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Descendents -Cool To Be You CD
Click for more info

Descendents
Cool To Be You CD

My name's Josh. Believe it or not, this is the first Descendents album I bought. I know, I know, I'm a little late, but I've heard their music a number of times so I finally decided to buy one. It's very good and I'm sure plenty of the people that reviewed it agree with me, yet they'll swear until they go to the grave that they hate Green Day, Blink 182, or MXPX. These are the people that are hypocrites. All three of those bands were influenced a lot by the Descendents. Let's face it, the Descendents were where punk started to get more mainstream because they got better and better. Music is music and whoever says otherwise is an idiot. I absolutely hate country and I can't stand most rap, but I don't care if people listen to it. It's their own preference. People are always putting down Green Day or Blink 182 as too "poppy" or "selling out" which is ridiculous. Listen to this album or Everything Sucks and then listen to Blink 182's Enema of the State or Green Day's Dookie. They were clearly influenced and play the same kind of music. Yes, Blink 182's new album was a little weak, but not because it was bad. Only because it was a huge step in a different direction for the band. They changed their whole formula from bratty immature ranting to clear cut "we've grown up" music, which is fine. I didn't enjoy it as much as all of their others only because it was so different, but it's not bad. And for Green Day, they get accused of selling out all the time. You tell me, if you were offered tons of money to do the same thing you've been doing for nothing, would you do it? The answer is yes. Their new CD, American Idiot, was called one of the best albums in the last 10 years. Tell me that isn't good. Just because they got popular does not mean they've sold out. Their music is still as gripping as ever and a great example of one of the most influential bands to date. There is no such thing as a bad CD. Someone will fall in love with every CD ever made. Music is music. Get over it. With that said, sorry about the preaching. This is a great CD. I'd have to say 'Merican is my favorite track because it points out all of the obvious flaws in our country that people choose to ignore. If you like the Descendents or any band like Green Day, Blink 182, Sum 41, MXPX, or Alkaline Trio, pick it up.

Gail from Fredericksburg, VA 
Jan 25 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Strike Anywhere -Change Is A Sound CD
Click for more info

Strike Anywhere
Change Is A Sound CD

The name is Josh, not Gail. So first off, this is one hell of a good CD. I had purchased Exit English a while back after hearing To The World on the Rock Against Bush Vol. 1 compilation. I liked that song so I decided to buy it, and it was a great deal. I liked the CD. It wasn't the best I'd ever heard, but it was a worthy CD to put in my collection. So just recently I ordered this. Change Is A Sound is by far a much better CD than Exit English. That's kind of a contradiction because it sounds about the same as Exit English, but Change Is A Sound just sounds more refreshing and more tweaked to pay attention to every little detail. In the end, it's definitely a good buy if you're into straight-forward, in-your-face punk. If you like Strike Anywhere, check out Rise Against. Their new CD, Siren Song of the Counter Culture, is easily one of the best CD's I've ever purchased.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.