THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 45,861 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 34 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Oct 29 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Jawbreaker -Unfun CD
Click for more info

Jawbreaker
Unfun CD

This is Jawbreaker's first album, so it is a little rough around the edges, but is still quality. Not quite as ambitious as their next album(Bivouc). Any fan of Jawbreaker should still have it. Someone who is just getting into them would probably get 24 Hour Revenge Therapy or Dear You first. This is gritty, melodic punk rock. The first songs are great, it lags toward the end but is good nonetheless.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jul 30 2004 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Strike Anywhere -Exit English CD
Click for more info

Strike Anywhere
Exit English CD

I really mean to give this 3.5 stars. It's good but not a real substantial improvement over their last release. I liked Change is a Sound a lot, this one is a little slower and while it has a lot of good tracks, especially Lights Go Out which is awesome, but some of the other tracks are dull. Anyway, Strike Anywhere is a good band, but this is not their best, it has giid songs, but you should get Change is a Sound before this

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jul 14 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Benton Falls -Guilt Beats Hate CD
Click for more info

Benton Falls
Guilt Beats Hate CD

I like this album, it's pretty solid. Pros: Good guitar work. Singer has a good voice. Lyrics are good as well Cons: Songs are not too memorable, when I'm listening to it I think this is pretty cool, but nothing stays with me after its over. The background screaming is a little unecessary. Overall this is a pretty good release, get this if you like melodic emo-styled rock or other Deep Elm bands.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 14 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Reputation -To Force A Fate CD
Click for more info

Reputation
To Force A Fate CD

I really enjoy this CD. They are a pop-rock/indie rock band and they have great songs. Intelligent lyrics that are more than just cliches about broken heats and good guitar work. I like her voice too. The album starts off with Let This Rest which features a catchy chorus that sets this album into motion. The next track Bottle Rocket Battles starts off with male and female vocals then slows down to where its just her singing and is another great track. The album kind of slows down in the middle with some more midtempo tracks, but they are still worth listening to, especially The Ugliness Kicking Around. This is a good record for someone looking for something interesting and intelligent, and not the latest teenage scremo band saturating the market.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 14 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fifth Hour Hero -You Have Hurt My Business And My Reputation Too CD
Click for more info

Fifth Hour Hero
You Have Hurt My Business And My Reputation Too CD

This is a great EP by this excellent new band.There are hints of Hot Water Music and Dicount in their catchy tunes. All the songs are good and I think that Kill or Cure is one of the best songs that they have written. If you like the aformentioned bands than check this out or get their full-length Scattered Sentences. If you're already a fan definetly check this out

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 8 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sleater Kinney -Dig Me Out CD
Click for more info

Sleater Kinney
Dig Me Out CD

Sleater Kinney are quickly becomming one of my favorite bands. They have two guitarists and no bassist, yet they have a very full sound. Good vocals, sometimes soft other times warbling and off-key. Many of the songs are very catchy, my favorites include Dig Me Out, The Drama You've Been Craving, One More Minute,and Little Babies. Check them out if you like punk rock but also indie rock and bands like Fugazi( who they are often compared to). This is probably my favorite but I suggest checking out All Hands on the Bad One as Well.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 3 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fifth Hour Hero -Scattered Sentences CD
Click for more info

Fifth Hour Hero
Scattered Sentences CD

Excellent release from this Canadian band. With the two guitar sound reminiscient of Hot Water Music as well as the catchy-ness of Discount or Dillinger 4 and other bands like them. But instead of gruff vocals we get a nice female vocalist as well as a guy singing. The songs are catchy without being annoyingly so. The lyrics address political topics as well as felling trapped by your surroundings without being dumb or obvious. Standouts include: Cut Me Dead, With Such Rights, and Goodbye All Regrets. Recommended for anyone who likes catchy punk or is looking for something different.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 3 2004 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Slowride -As I Survive The Suicide Bomber CD
Click for more info

Slowride
As I Survive The Suicide Bomber CD

This is a good pop-punk record. Not pop-punk in the sense of Good Charlotte or Simple Plan, more in the vein of Jawbreaker, which is a very good thing. Not as great lyrically as Jawbreaker, but catchy nonetheless. My favorite song is track one "I'm Everything Without You" but the whole record is pretty good. Get this if you like melodic punk rock with a (as much as I hate to use this term) emo side.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 3 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
X -Under The Big Black Sun CD
Click for more info

X
Under The Big Black Sun CD

A more mature release than their first two records (The always great Los Angeles and its worthy follow-up Wild Gift). It trades the punk energy for some more mellower songs, it has a more rock and roll flavor but is still very good. All the songs are standouts, and the bonus material is very good as well. John Doe and Exene Cervanka are both excellent songwriters and this CD is filled with great harmonies and good lyrics. The sticker says its like "aural film noir" and I think that assessment is accurate. If you are new to this band get Los Angeles first but definitley return to get this one.

Eli from Pocatello, ID 
Jun 3 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
X -Wild Gift CD
Click for more info

X
Wild Gift CD

X is a stellar band. One of the best of the early punk bands. They have a geat style mixing rockabilly and punk. Sometimes it sounds like what they would play at a sock hop in hell. Purchase this album after buying the truly awesome Los Angeles. Every song is a winner and while the bonus tracks offer nothing new they don't detract from the record. In summation, do yourself a favor and get this record and other records by this great band.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 34 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.