THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,624 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 20 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Jeremy from Leesburg, VA 
Jul 12 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Slackers -Upsettin' Ernesto's (Live Import) CD
Click for more info

Slackers
Upsettin' Ernesto's (Live Import) CD

Hooooooooooooooooo man, this is really good. Even better than the previous live album, complete with even a Sam Cooke cover. This performance has a lot of diversity and doesn't ever go dry like most 3rd wave ska nowadays. Gets you into the groove when you're in a good mood and makes everything allright. All right.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Mar 19 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Mars Volta -Frances The Mute CD
Click for more info

Mars Volta
Frances The Mute CD

Honestly speaking, this is not the Mars Volta's greatest record. It is a good record, in that it transcends a lot of the formulas used on previous records (i.e. - songs written in mostly Spanish, longer blocks of noise, crazier guitar effects, etc.) but it fails to capture what De-Loused hit on the head. Frances is a good record to listen to under select moods and mindsets, but, unlike the last record, it rocks a little less. This is almost like a prog opera in a way. The punk aspect has drained a little bit, but, nonetheless, this is still a good listen because the Mars Volta are the Mars Volta.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Jan 23 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lowcloudcover -I Took A Second Too Long CD
Click for more info

Lowcloudcover
I Took A Second Too Long CD

very good stuff here. sort of like quivering space rock that burns immmediately into your memory, but not at all watered down or trite, just excellent musicianship and smoothly-coated vocals revolving around dream-to-nightmare kind of plateaus. the guitar playing almost steals the attention, but then one notices how well-built the drumming and bass are, taking on their own substancial roles in each song. if you're looking to get into space rock that's well-crafted and full of substance, then check this cd, check this band, and then go pat yourself on the back for doing something right for a change.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Nov 26 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Nirvana -With The Lights Out CD/DVD
Click for more info

Nirvana
With The Lights Out CD/DVD

This box set is fully what it has been labeled by the surviving members, Grohl and Novoselic; closure. In no way is this a long lost treasure trove of mind-blowing singles. It's a mixture of outtakes and core, sloppy recordings, displaying Nirvana at their best/worst, given that the recording quality on some of the demos is pretty 2nd gear. This is a box set worth savoring for its rarity and story. Namely, the story of what could have been and what definitely was the greatest band of this generation. The booklet, arranged by Thurston Moore, is according to my elitist standards, really fucking rad and the DVD, too. It displays the band evolving from small, kind-of-shitty little garage band to punk rock, dare i say, legends. (Insert your nay say rebuttal nowhere because this band fucking rocked and if you disagree, well, then good. You suck anyway.)

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Oct 19 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ostinato -Left Too Far Behind CD
Click for more info

Ostinato
Left Too Far Behind CD

This band is great. Very layered what have you from the dude in Hidden Hand. The word is defined as a "constantly recurring melodic fragment." Check this band out if you like heavy math rock-ish sounding, i don't fucking know, kind-of-music. Call them what you will. They'Re good. Listen.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Oct 14 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Handsome Family -Live At Schuba's Tavern CD
Click for more info

Handsome Family
Live At Schuba's Tavern CD

I saw the Handsome Family play about a year ago at the Iota in Arlington, Va in front of a crowd no larger than 20, with people leaving midway into their first song. They played mostly songs off of their then-new album, "Singing Bones," with a few ditties from older albums, prior to hearing this live album. Which made me kind of biased. Knowing that Rennie and Brett are incredibly entertaining, and downright fucking hilarious, I conclude that this live album does live up to their show quality, even when Brett screws up on a song and Rennie sneezes onstage during the set. I give this four stars because no live record is ever as good as the real thing. If you like their records and want to get an idea of what it might be like to have a beer with them, then pick this up. It's worth it just for the interludes between songs.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Aug 4 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Andrew Bird -Weather Systems CD
Click for more info

Andrew Bird
Weather Systems CD

This is the something else i've been looking for my record collection for time infinitum most definitely. I've yet to hear his older work, but i will say that this ablum blows me away. It's a myriad of some of the best string melodies you may ever hear. The violin is played like a guitar in many parts, which gives it kind of a surreal flavor. His voice is a little chilling and sad, blending indie with folk. Nora O'Connor, whos authentically Celtic voice sends tremors through my spine, sings on a few parts, as well. Check her work out as well. Five fucking stars here.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Aug 4 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
George Tabb -Playing Right Field: A Jew Grows In Greenwich Book
Click for more info

George Tabb
Playing Right Field: A Jew Grows In Greenwich Book

George Tabb writes the way i think and it kind of scares me. This book kept my attention from beginning to end, but my one and only complaint was that it's a little bit fragmented. I kind of wish that it had been a little longer and for the characters to have expanded traits a little bit. The book ends abruptly, but on a funny note, and will probably be re-read by me at some point in the future. I will say one thing though: This book really made me want to jump into the story and stop events from happening. But then this book wouldn't be worth reading, now would it?

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Jul 26 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Iron And Wine -Creek Drank The Cradle CD
Click for more info

Iron And Wine
Creek Drank The Cradle CD

Ethreal folk laden with Missippi Delta-esque guitar stylings and harmonies, arranged in such a manner to provoke the least bit crazy to sell his every possession and begin a new life in the wilderness among the trees and escaped convicts. A lot of steel guitar and dare i say, "alt. country" flavor to pique interests in the most unexpected of audiophiles. This was released by the same label that put out Nirvana's first record (Sub Pop) so anything they put out I'm going to give a chance. This would go on my deserted island list, most definitely.

Jeremy from Manassas, VA 
Jul 16 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Fugazi -The Argument CD
Click for more info

Fugazi
The Argument CD

Nothing i say can really do this or them justice. One of the most experimentally diverse punk bands in existence. They're chock full of integrity and prove their ace musicianship on this one. Do hand over your bling for this one kids.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 20 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.