THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,511 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 40 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
TJ from Aldie,  
May 15 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Mass Movement Of The Moth -Finale 10

Mass Movement Of The Moth
Finale 10"

You know what’s rad about living in DC,MD, Northern Va?... Mass Movement of the Moth! I enjoy kissing this bands ass, you know why? Because I can go to sleep at night knowing that the cheeks I pucker against are some of the sweetest, most ingenious, and down right brutal that anyone would ever have the pleaser to pucker upon. Since most of you have forgotten what post hardcore is supposed to sound like allow Mass Movement of the Moth to remind you. The dynamics in this band are perfect. Guitars, drums, synthesizers, vocals all just kind of fall into each other in scary, sexy, drunken orgy that emits a stench that is part man sweat, part green apple tootsie pop, part easy Sunday morn spent on a wooden swing! Each part giving and taking like old lovers in the troughs of a new romance in which melody and harmony are conceived once again for the first time then made to lay with their sister cruelty. If you can, take them into your home. House them in you music collection. For they will pillage and rape it until it is cleansed of heathens and is prepared for the judgments of the Almighty. And when the angel descends from that cloudy summit to judge and redeem, will you be counted among the loyal, among the chaste? My friends I know I will, I know I will! …Soon and very soon, we are going to see the king/ soon and very soon, we are going to see the king…

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Apr 3 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lye By Mistake -Fabulous CD
Click for more info

Lye By Mistake
Fabulous CD

First off, we all understand that Dillinger Escape Plan is the bench mark of Technical Metal/ Technical Hardcore. Often band get compared to Dillinger incorrectly just because the have a kind of technical riff or they play in a strange timing, not because they sound anything like Dillinger. With that said, Lye By Mistake sounds like Dillinger, but not to a sickening level though. The really metal parts sound a lot like the really metal parts of Calculating Infinite. If we are being honest is really awesome that they can maintain that level of brutality. It’s kind of funny though, that the most brutal parts of the record are the non-distorted jazz riffs. The jazzy parts are what really set this band apart and above most of there contemporaries. My hat is off to the band, in an age where every band out of the gate is saying that they are Technical Metal these guys actually pull it off. If you dig bands that actually play, these guys are a good bet.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Feb 2 2006 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Tortoise/Bonnie Prince Billy -Brave And The Bold CD
Click for more info

Tortoise/Bonnie Prince Billy
Brave And The Bold CD

Damn it, Damn it, Damn it! What the hell is going on with Will Oldham on this record? I am convinced he has crumpled up three word poems that are better this album. With the exception of “Cravo E Canela” this album is pure hell to listen too. I’m not sure why. Will Oldham’s presence alone should be enough to make this record great, but alas it is not. Here are my two theories: The first is that this is all Tortoise’s fault. Though that would be kind of harsh and a little out of line for me to say, because I have never heard any of their music other then this record, but I will tell you that it makes me not want to find out anything more about them. Theory two: the source material sucks. It seems like you have a genius and a handycappable student in a three legged race to try their collective damnedest to polish ten fresh baked ass loafs. Make sure you have all the Will Oldham records before you get this one. Well, better yet, every time you feel the need to buy this record stick that money in a piggy bank. When that bank is full, go treat yourself to a steak. You’ve earned it.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Oct 21 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Magnolia Electric Co. -Trials And Errors CD
Click for more info

Magnolia Electric Co.
Trials And Errors CD

This I by far the best CD I have ever heard out of this band. The recording is crisp and clear. I didn't even realize that this was a live CD at first Jason is dead on with the vocals and the guitar work is brutally beautiful. Each piece works in tandem to deliver feelings of loss and regret. This is the first record in a long time to really grab me and pull me in. He really explores the depths of human inadequacy and disappointment in both life and love. The songs are extremely powerful and hit that deep part of the soul where hurt and betrayal sit. This may not be a straight blues record but it feels like one. I couldn't recommend this more. Connor Oberst has shit on Jason Malina. Saddle Creek can eat a dick.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Sep 1 2005 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Curl Up And Die -One Above All, The End Of All That Is CD
Click for more info

Curl Up And Die
One Above All, The End Of All That Is CD

This is a big fat disappointment. What Curl Up and Die have done here is they went back over the old cds and picked out the most boring parts and made a “new” CD out of them. I love Curl Up and Die, but this cd just doesn’t do anything. Maybe they are getting old and need to take a nap or something. Damn-it gas is too expensive to buy crappy cds like this. Make sure you have everything else they’ve done before you waste money on this. In fact I just heard the new Ed Gein record, that sounds more like a Curl Up And Die record then this does. Get that record, you will be happier.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Jun 29 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Do Make Say Think -Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn CD
Click for more info

Do Make Say Think
Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn CD

This album is absolutely brilliant. They create a beautiful atmosphere that reminds me of watching snow fall with a warm cup of coffee in hand. This album really takes a hold of you and pulls you with it as it weaves in and out of itself. Truly inspiring. I often listen to this when I am stuck for ideas. This is a great piece of music that anyone should own.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Jan 21 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bodies In The Gears Of The Apparatus/Despised Icon -Split CD
Click for more info

Bodies In The Gears Of The Apparatus/Despised Icon
Split CD

Hey boys and girls! Take off your pants and expose your genitals, ‘cause BODIES IN THE GEARS OF THE APPERATUS have done the impossible! They have up the ante of brutal and ricockulousness with this split with Despised Icon. Ok, I am being a little over zealous. None the less the three Bodies in the Gears songs rule. Everything I want from a metal band, fast, tech, and super brutal. Grind, Grind, Grind. These guys know their way around their instruments and do everything humanly possible to dismantle them while playing.

It has to be obvious that I bought this album just for the Bodies in the Gears songs, but Despised Icon has a strong showing. They are more subdued Grind as Bodies. They are more straight ahead brutal but not quite the sound I’m into. If I said that the Bodies songs were like a sword fight in fast forward, I could then say the Despised Icon was like a fist fight, with brass knuckles with spikes, in fast forward. Really it’s different, but not bad at all, just not my thing.

This is a very good spit and I’m sure that anybody who likes good music will love this CD. And if aren’t down with this CD, well what does that say about your taste in music? No really. What does it say? Go in the corner and think about what you’ve done. Ricockulous!!

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Jan 4 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Great Redneck Hope -Behold The Fuck Thunder CD
Click for more info

Great Redneck Hope
Behold The Fuck Thunder CD

Boy oh boy, isn’t this a little piece of heaven? This is hands down the best CD to come out in 2004. I know what your thinking, “How could this be? It didn’t come from Saddle Creek. This isn’t Thursday. In fact I don’t know who this band is. Do they play country?” I know. I know that if you think this you are retarded.

The Great Redneck hope is the perfect blind of Humor/ Horror/ tech/ grind. These boys shred and they don’t give a hot damn what you think about it. It is a shame that more people don’t know who they are. I tell everyone I can, do they listen? No, they just pull there stinky ass Brand New hoodie tightly around there body and say some thing retarded about not liking bands who know how to play guitar like they learned it from Satan himself or how drummers who know more then two different beats confuse them. Plus Rancid is old.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Aug 10 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Oktober Skyline -That's How Tripods Work CD
Click for more info

Oktober Skyline
That's How Tripods Work CD

Hey, geeks. If you’re tired of the same redundant, three chord bullshit, boy are the Oktober Skyline the band for you. They got it all, they build from a Grind base, very technical guitar and bass. If you have a chance to see them live their drummer is worth the price of admittance and then when you add the rest of the band, its wonderful tech chaos. The site’s description of the CD is a little lacking. They have a hint of rock and roll and they have a great feel for doom as well. This album only gets better the more you listen to it. If you’re tired of music that insults your intelligence (i.e. NOFX and like bullshit [I use bullshit here and before because I have grown up with punk rock and all it has done musically is leave me very, very board and a lot of people like to tell me how great a guitar player that some punk band may have or some awesome drummer another band has and in reality they are playing trite, three chord leads or punk beat drums, that’s not going to cut it now that I am no longer 14]) try Oktober Skyline. This is a great album from some very talented guys.

TJ from Aldie, VA 
Jul 28 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Iron And Wine -Creek Drank The Cradle CD
Click for more info

Iron And Wine
Creek Drank The Cradle CD

You know what’s wrong with the music today? There are not enough people who approach music the way Iron and Wine do. Listening to this album and the others I got the feeling this guy loves music. He loves to write it, he loves to play it, and he loves to live it. I hate to use the word “honest” to describe Iron and Wine, because it has been tarnished a particular current band (guess who). But the word honest is the best way to describe this record. He takes great care to explain just how he feels in each song. His affection for the person or the moment he is singing about is communicated in excruciatingly beautiful detail through his lyrics, voice, and guitar. He plays his guitar with all the inflection that one would hear if they were being told a deeply personal story. Iron and Wine is a nice break from self indulgent singer songwriters that are littered all over the scene now a days. He is not your broken hearted pretty boy. Instead he is your wise, large bearded, friend.

“Upward Over the Mountain” and “the Roster Moans” are fine examples of excellence.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 40 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2022 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.