THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 72,456 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!

Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
INTERPUNK E-MAIL SIGNUP!
Sign up for our COUPONS and occasional updates. Your e-mail address is kept private and safe.

ADD MEcancel me






  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews
  Dickies
  Converse
  Draven
  Hurley
  T.U.K.



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Jan 2 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Jawbox -For Your Own Special Sweetheart (Reissue) LP
Click for more info

Jawbox
For Your Own Special Sweetheart (Reissue) LP

To me, this is a landmark record. This band has a sound that sits right on a fine line between angular and catchy... and it's all done seamlessly and with balance. This album was originally released in 1994, but even today it has a feel that is entirely new. If you like early 90's post-hardcore (Quicksand, Drive Like Jehu, Fugazi, etc.) you'll really dig this.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Feb 20 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Great Redneck Hope -Splosion! CD
Click for more info

Great Redneck Hope
Splosion! CD

In my opinion, this is a landmark album. Everything sounds warped and cartoony while still being grindy. Sort of like a less dark, more upbeat As the Sun Sets. It draws on 90's indie rock and old school screamo a lot more than most bands in this genre. At times you even hear funk riffs. It's a really patchwork sound, that flows really well and never seems like it's overreaching. Imagine busting out of a mental asylum on shrooms and you'll get a pretty good idea of how this sounds. This album isn't nearly as technical or mature in song structure as "Behold the Fuck Thunder", but even so I think this is their best work. You'll find that this CD displays the scope of their range more than the follow up. I would suggest starting here. The Great Redneck Hope will not disappoint.



Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Nov 21 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Akimbo -Harshing Your Mellow (Digipak Reissue) CD
Click for more info

Akimbo
Harshing Your Mellow (Digipak Reissue) CD

This CD is a testament to how good things happen when hardcore punk, 90's screamo, and grunge are fused together. A prime example of why Washington state is a spawning pool for greatness. Recommended for fans of bands on level plane and other similar minded artists.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Nov 21 2008 Rating: 3/5 Stars
As The Sun Sets -7744 CD
Click for more info

As The Sun Sets
7744 CD

I didn't find this CD to be anywhere near as good as Each Individual Voice is Dead in the Silence. There are definitely some strong tracks on here and some interesting experiments, but there are also some generic ones. It's a mixed bag, the tracks that work make up for the ones that don't, but it's clear that this release doesn't stand the test of time as well as their first CD. In 2002 I may have been a little more satisfied, but a lot of the ideas presented here have been taken further by other bands since then. If you're thinking about buying this and have never heard Each Individual Voice is Dead in The Silence, I would hold off on buying this until after buying that.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Sep 6 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Sunn O))) -Oracle LP
Click for more info

Sunn O)))
Oracle LP

This LP definitely lives up to it's title. Ambient, haunting sounding music. When you listen to it, you feel like your opening a portal to hell.

People with a lot of patience will find this to be a rewarding listen.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Sep 6 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Coalesce -Give Them Rope, She Said v2.0 CD
Click for more info

Coalesce
Give Them Rope, She Said v2.0 CD

The true test of bands in this genre seems to be time. The emergence of mathcore began in the late 1990's and as time marches on the hoards of imitators continue to try to advance the sound of bands like Coalesce, Botch, and Converge in their own way. But make no mistake, this record is just as abrasive as ever. Though many try to replicate them, this band has a pummeling attack that is all their own. Aside from production quality, this album is just as fresh now as it would have been when it was first released in 1997.

Possibly the greatest thing to ever come out of Kansas.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Sep 6 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Red Scare -Capillary Lockdown CD
Click for more info

Red Scare
Capillary Lockdown CD

This is a pretty standard emotive hardcore record. I can't say that it's terribly original but it definitely has it's moments where it distinguishes it's self from the hoards of other bands playing this sort of stuff. The Red Scare is far spacier and driving than a lot of screamo bands, and this is a characteristic that I personally find very appealing. I will say that I found the first 3 tracks to almost seem like re-workings of each other, but with that said they may also be the best 3 tracks on the album.

If you like bands like Ten Grand and Orchid or 1990's gravity records sound in general, you may take interest in this band. As much as I criticize it for it's short comings I find myself listening to it frequently. A solid 3.5.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Sep 1 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ft (The Shadow Government) -Guns Of August CD
Click for more info

Ft (The Shadow Government)
Guns Of August CD

If you like Ten Grand, you will probably like this. It's difficult to describe musically but it's really cerebral and noisy with a distinctive punk edge. Definitely treads along more experimental and abstract lines.

The epic tracks "Noble Flavor" and "Zero Geez" make this CD well worth the purchase.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Sep 1 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Quicksand -Slip CD
Click for more info

Quicksand
Slip CD

As strange as this may sound, if Tool were a punk band, they would probably sound something like Quicksand.

I would strongly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of early 90's post-hardcore or "grunge". Quicksand has a really bass driven sound that is really mathy, penetrating and hard hitting. With that said, the record is full of subdued moments which could be seen as a catalyst for some of the other post-hardcore/emo based bands that emerged in the early to mid 90's.

A unique band, and as the last reviewer said it's a pretty magical cd. Check this out if you like bands like Drive Like Jehu and Jawbox.

Ammar from Wichita, KS 
Aug 28 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Narrows -Narrows 7''
Click for more info

Narrows
Narrows 7''

I am very pleased with this 7".

It definitely has parallels with Botch, but has a distinguished sound that does not rely on conventional breakdowns to display it's intensity. The result is a pummeling and cerebral record that manages to sound familiar and refreshing at the same time.

A promising record from a promising band.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2017 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.