THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 67,365 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

20% OFF Small Merch
$3 OFF Best T-Shirts Sale
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
Interpunk Specials
Mystery Item Packs






  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews
  Dickies
  Converse
  Draven
  Hurley
  T.U.K.



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying all 7 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Aug 14 2003 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Alkaline Trio -Good Mourning CD
Click for more info

Alkaline Trio
Good Mourning CD

First things first, Alkaline Trio is my favorite band. "Goddamnit", the so-called "Singles Collection", and "Maybe I'll Catch Fire", are three of my all-time favorite records.

"From Here to Infirmary" is good, and would probably be great if it didn't have to stand against the Trio's previous work, but "Good Mourning" sucks. Even if I didn't compare it to the band's older stuff, it would only be a mediocre album. The dark lyrics I once loved are getting cheesy and forced, the tempo is slowing down, the music is getting boring, Dan's songs stick out like a sore thumb, and that's not the half of it. The rawness of a low budget and not knowing what the hell they're doing has given way to high-quality, polished production and tired, formulaic songwriting.

I feel like I'm being harsh, especially considering how much I love these death-obsessed drunks from Chicago, but "Good Mourning" just doesn't seem up to par for them. It's not all bad, but it just doesn't give me the feeling that the Trio's other work does. I'd give it a two, but my opinion is skewed so I'll raise the boys a star.

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Aug 7 2002 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Wunder Years -Function Over Fashion CD
Click for more info

Wunder Years
Function Over Fashion CD

The Wunder Years were, and still are, one of punk rock's most underrated bands. Imagine a voice and lyrics similar in style to Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio. Raw melodies with blood curdling screams, and words drenched in alcohol and coated in cigarette smoke. Dark semi-political emo/punk with influences in bands like Fugazi, Jawbreaker, and Alkaline Trio.

This isn't the Wunder Years' best in my opinion, but it does show their more postpunk influences and it still rocks hard. Check out their split on Springman Records with Sorry About the Fire (another similar but unique and awesome band) or the Ghost, Brian's new band.

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Apr 28 2002 Rating: 4/5 Stars
V/A -Punk Goes Pop CD
Click for more info

V/A
Punk Goes Pop CD

Worth buying just for a few songs. Yellowcard's cover of Michelle Branch's "Everywhere," Starting Line's J-Lo redo "I'm Real," and Noise Ratchet's version of "Crush" by Mandy Moore are my favorites. But Fake ID, Rufio, Further Seems Forever, and my local heroes Student Rick (they're from the next town over and they rule our punk/emo scene) had some sweet covers too. Some of the songs are scary, but overall its pretty darn rad. Especially good for wussy emo kids like me who enjoy sappy music.

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Apr 28 2002 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Lifetime -The Boy's No Good 7''
Click for more info

Lifetime
The Boy's No Good 7''

Title track = not great, B Side = the shizzit. The original New Jersey melodic hardcore band, the band Saves the Day got their style from.

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Jan 19 2002 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Thursday -Full Collapse CD
Click for more info

Thursday
Full Collapse CD

I got this cd almost half a year ago (I still listen to it all time) & I was reading the reviews for it, and I noticed that I never posted one. This is one of my favorite cds of all time. Everyone says they sound like At the Drive-In, but there is one major difference --- they don't suck. I can't stand At the Drive-In, so those of you out there reading these reviews, don't be turned away just because you don't like At the Drive-In. This is a great album that goes from hard to soft, from emo to hardcore. It's very original, but it may take a few listens though if your usually more into music on other ends of the punk/emo/hardcore scene. Thursday is one of the best bands out there, buy this or I'll pee on your grandma's face

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Sep 9 2001 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fonzarellies -Beautiful CD
Click for more info

Fonzarellies
Beautiful CD

I usually listen to more emopunky stuff, but when I heard "Won't Say it Again" on "Punk Rock Strike 2: Punk Rock Strikes Back" it became my favorite song and I had to get this disc. They combine 80's metal and sing along 80's punk with some super rad melodies and a NFG type influence. This is punk for everyone. I was slightly dissapointed in the third track and the final track, buts it's definitely worth just the first two tracks.

Joey from Elkhart, IN 
Sep 1 2001 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Rufio -Perhaps, I Suppose CD
Click for more info

Rufio
Perhaps, I Suppose CD

Why should I even review this?, a thousand people already have. It's good. The way they blend in the 80's metal is sweet. It's good. It's original but it's still the same stuff you know. It's good. Buy it. It's good.

 
Displaying all 7 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2017 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.